My Nail Polish Collection

Howdy.  Today I thought I’d show you my nail polish collection.  I love nail maintenance (although I am dismal at actually painting them) and nail art (see: https://bellasbits.wordpress.com/2012/05/07/nails-101/ and https://bellasbits.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/nails-102/ for some mild mannered tutorials!) so thought I’d share my ‘collection’ with you.

IMG_3115

So this is how I store my nail polish.  Not particularly exciting or glamorous, just in an Ikea box on my dressing table.  But when I went through and sorted them all, I was pretty impressed with my collection!  It’s the kind of thing that builds up without you really noticing.

IMG_3118

And voila!  I sorted them into 3 categories (loosely following Richard Of York Gave Battle In Vain for aesthetic effect..!), plain bold block colours, effect polishes and my trusty clear top coat beauty.

IMG_3117

I remember buying my first ever Barry M nail polish, I think it was about £3.50 in Topshop Oxford Circus when I was about 12.  I think it lasted approximately four hours without chipping and then that was it for me, reputation tarnished!  Until a couple of years ago when the Hi-Shine Gelly range came out.  I bought a couple in a Boots offer because I adored the colours and that was it, hooked!  I also love Model’s Own and their ranges, like the pastel and neon ranges you can see here.  OPI is a personal favourite when I’m feeling like a big spender, and all the extras are just individual ones I like the colours of, or got free somewhere!

IMG_3116

These are my ‘specialty’ polishes if you like, for when you need to add a little glitz and glamour to your talons.  As you can see, predominantly glitter based!  Most of my nights out are pretty impromptu affairs  so what happens to be on my nails usually has to do, but when it’s a planned event like a big night out or a party, that’s when the glitter or the confetti comes out.

IMG_3122

And say hello to my favourite top coat!  I got this free with something at Sydney Airport and have never looked back.  It leaves a beautiful shiny and glossy look and avoids chipping for days.  A must have!

So there you have it!  My nail polish collection, what are you wearing on your talons this season?!

Leave a Reply

