A Midsummer Night’s Dream – The Look

So last weekend I was invited to a good friend of mine’s belated 21st birthday party, with the theme ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’.  At first, Boyfriend and I thought we’d go all out with togas, pink body paint and glitter but when we discovered we were heading out on the town afterwards, we thought better of it.  Instead, I opted for this look, and thought I’d tell you guys about how I achieved it.

Image

The dress is from TK Maxx, and has always been a summer favourite of mine.  (I’m also wearing it in this post: https://bellasbits.wordpress.com/2012/04/07/the-day-i-turned-20/).  I thought it suited the brief as it’s flowery, floaty and ethereal – not to mention super comfy.  I teamed this up with a £2 crown from Hobbycraft (the final idea ended that Boyfriend and I were King and Queen of the forest) and lots of fake Hobbycraft flowers.  Using garden twine I wrapped real ivy from my Mum and Dad’s garden around it to make a sash, with the fake flowers.  I also wrapped the fake flowers around a clubbing bag from TK Maxx and my favourite gold sandals from Dune.  And Voila!

ImageMy makeup for the look is very subtle, as I wanted my hair and outfit to do the talking.  All I added (to my standard ‘clubby’ makeup) was liquid eyeliner and gold eyeshadow.  I felt this look was all about the hair!  (You can read about my hair here: https://bellasbits.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/hair-story/)  I have wavy to curly hair anyway, so this look was created with hair mousse, curling tongs, some braids and a whole lotta hairspray.

There you have it!  My Midsummer Night’s Dream Look.  I do love a good costume party, anyone got any coming up I can come to?  Please and thankyou.  Tarah!

Leave a Reply

