Berlin Baby

Apologies for not blogging in a week or so, the reason being … I’ve been in Berlin!  It was first and foremost a University field trip for my course, but I still had a fantastic time and met some beautiful new people.  Snaps and stories: (Go left to right, kinda like a book)

 

From left to right like pages:

  • Victoria Park: a beautiful monument up the highest hill in Berlin
  • The Fernsehrturn (TV Tower), the tallest building in the EU that you can go up and look across Berlin
  • CURRYWURST.  One of the best inventions ever.  It is so tasty, I’m looking into making it
  • Part of the Reichstag with the German Flag (the equivalent of the Houses of Parliament)
  • Part of the Berlin Wall – very poignant
  • The dome at the top of the Reichstag
  • Some clever poster graffiti
  • Chewing gum on the Berlin Wall
  • The Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe
  • The Brandenburg Tor
  • Some gorgeous apartments

I won’t write too much about it all, I don’t really want to.  I find that when you’re studying a place as in depth as we were with up to 10 hours work a day, your view is somewhat distorted.  Berlin was a gorgeous city and I had a great time, but studying it has made me see it in a whole new light, thus I wouldn’t want to ruin it for anybody!  My overall favourite thing though was the East Side Gallery:

If we weren’t so hindered by time, I definitely could have spent a whole day there.  The East Side Gallery is the largest remaining stretch of the Berlin Wall, stretching 1.5 km that has been made into the largest open air art gallery in the world with paintings, pictures, graffiti, photograph and some very political quotes.  Just gorgeous.

So short and sweet, a beautiful city.

Leave a Reply

