Musical Palette

I love music.  Who doesn’t?!  I’m a complete chameleon when it comes to most of my life, my fashion, my plans, my diet … why not my musical palette?  I’ve blogged a bit about music in the past, my favourite things, what I’m listening to.  Here’s just a big old round up of my music life, right, now.

1)  8 Tracks

8 tracks is basically a giant mix tape that anyone can contribute to.  Since I’ve used up my free trials on Spotify AND LastFM (boo!) and I’m too stingy to buy a membership for either, 8 tracks has become a new favourite.  You search the playlists by artist or tag.  My favourite tags include ‘summer’, ‘pre-drinking’ and ‘chill’.  It’s great combination playlists too, check out Disney versus Hip Hop for giggles.

2)  Anti-ITunes

Okay, maybe ANTI I-Tunes is a bit harsh.  We all know that I’m a complete technophobe.  My ideas of being able to use a computer are facebooking, blogging and the odd word document.  So when it turned out my computer was essentially full, stuff had to go and I picked my music collection (well, there was no way that the photos were going!).  I’ve been feeling this for a while actually.  Having a music collection, be it records, CDs or digital, is becoming increasingly more outdated.  Websites where you share music and can listen to stuff for free really are the way forward.  Anyone got anymore they can let me know about?!

3)  UK Top 40

I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m a UK Top 40 kind of girl.  Maybe a couple of years ago, I would, but now, I just don’t care.  I like whatever is current.  I don’t have a favourite band or artist and I regularly go night clubbing.  And the places I go night clubbing (gosh I hate that, I feel so old!) are just a general mix match of good, current, up to date songs which I am exposed to on the radio (big up SURGE!), in the shops, online, and clubbing.  RIGHT now, my favourites include:

  • Rita Ora – How We Do (song OF Thailand, baby!)
  • Maroon 5 – Payphone
  • Stooche – Black Heart
  • fun. – We Are Young
  • Train – Drive By

I told you; chameleon!

4)  Fast Car

One of my all time favourite songs.  Other than the fact for about 10 years I was convinced that Tracy Chapman was a man (come on, the deep voice, the dreads, the leathers..?!) until one fateful evening where I learnt the truth (I still haven’t quite got over it), I do know every word, know every meaning and feel every syllable.  Sometimes a song comes along that just touches your heart, and to me, this is one of them.

5)  N-Dubz

Okay, so this is potentially one I should be a tiny bit embarrassed about.  But nope, N-Dubz til the end!  It’s only actually this summer that I’ve discovered my love for them.  The hilarious lyrics, the sarcastic comments, the weird background noises – listening to them (in particular, their Greatest Hits album) is pure comedy.

6)  Live Lounge

You know, maybe not Live Lounge.  Maybe, just covers in general.  I freaking love them.  I think it originates from shower singing, not just singing another artist’s song, but putting your swing on it.  Live Lounge and Covers showcase artists completely differently to how we perceive them, which is generally by their songs, their music videos and occasionally the odd interview.  Covers give them to opportunity to mix it up and prove that they actually are musical artists, ARTISTS being the buzz word.  And most of the time, they succeed.

7)  Walk Off The Earth cover Somebody That I Used To Know

Now this, this is incredible.  As per always, I don’t know if my tecnhology has worked, so if it hasn’t please please follow the link and take the 4/5 minutes to watch this.  It will change your life.  Uh-may-zing.

So in terms of my music life, RIGHT NOW, that pretty much sums it up.  What do you guys dig?

 

Leave a Reply

