Ebay Selling: Bits and Bobs Central

So I’ve only actually been selling my bits and bobs on Ebay for a few months now, but I’m doing pretty well and have so far made a turnover of about £50 from all my clothes, old paintings and nick nacks.  It’s definitely worth doing.  You’re only allowed to sell 10 items every month so at the end of each month (or whenever really) I’ll dig through my wardrobe and scout around my room for things I don’t wear anymore, don’t need and don’t use.  Pop them on Ebay and boom!  So far there’s only been one thing that hasn’t sold.  So here’s a tutorial on selling things on Ebay:

Step 1)  Take a Photo (or a few)

 

This is your chance to showcase your item.  I’ve heard that products that are displayed on mannequins sell faster and for more money but alas I do not have one.  So hangers on a plain background like a door or a wall I find are best.  Make sure you take a full photo of the item, plus a photo of any impurities (stains, holes etc), a picture of any defining features (for example the rouched sleeves) and then the label.  I think the label is quite an important one because so often people can claim a dress is Topshop when its not.  Make sure you check for labels!

Step 2) Details

Once you’ve uploaded all your photos and filled out the simple questions like what category your item comes into and the size of it (if it’s clothing) you’ll have to write a short description.  Just highlighting any cool bits about it and whether its new or used will do really.

3)  Submit and voila!

In terms of things like postage price, there’s a link to a Royal Mail calculator which is helpful.  I often find that 1 week is the best time to list your items for, any longer you as the seller can lose interest in selling them (cause it is quite a lot of work once they’ve sold, chasing payments and heading to the post office etc, especially for busy people).  So it’s pretty simple really, and you reap the rewards in cold hard cash.  Lovely :)

 

Leave a Reply

