Titanic 3D

Titanic

So right now marks the 100th Anniversary of the sailing, and alas, the sinking of the HMS Titanic.  Being a Southampton citizen I think I’m feeling this a lot more than regular people so decided to drag the boyfriend to see Titanic on the big screen … in 3D.  I love the movie; I know I love the movie.  It never fails to bring a tear to my eye, I can recite every line (my favourites being: ‘Take her to see Mr Murdoch’ and ‘Is anyone alive out there?’  Yes, I know I’m sad) and I dance along every time to Irish Party in 3rd Class.  And I own the James Horner soundtrack.  So imagine my excitement when it was rereleased in 3D, if nothing else but to see a 3D boob; I could not wait.

So every other film I’ve seen at the cinema in 3D (Avatar, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 and of course, Tin Tin), I have seen under the influence of a little bit of alcohol.  You crazy person!  I hear the cries.  But no, it generally makes for, in my opinion, better overall viewing and entertainment.  If I’m watching a movie in my own home, I will do so with a few glasses of wine, so why not in the cinema too?  Exactly.

So I decanted my Pinot into a Buxton and skipped off to the cinema wearing my comfiest, warmest outfit (cinemas are freezing!) and settled into the film.  For some reason, it was so much funnier!  Now, I don’t know if I’m just a ditz and missed all the jokes the first time so only laughed along cause the man did, but it was just so comical!  I think seeing the guy from Thunderbirds in HD was funny enough in its own right to be honest.

But the action scenes! AMAZING!  Other than the scene where everyone is flapping about in the sea dying and you can totally see the edge of the swimming pool in the background, they were so real.  So incredible.  I.  Was.  Sobbing.  I mean, actually sobbing.  The kind of sobbing where you stop and can’t breathe for a moment then erupts again.  It was embarrassing. But maybe that what 3D does?  Generic, cliché and predictable … but makes everything come a bit more to life?  Makes everything just that bit better?  I think so.

HMS

But seriously for a minute now, the Titanic means a lot to me.  I have no personal links to it, but every few months when I had down to Southampton docks to visit my Doctor I look around at all the pubs thinking which one Jack Dawson won his ticket in.  When I’ve accidentally slept with my window open and a cruise liner horn wakes me up I instantly think of the Titanic.  When my bus drives by the Titanic Museum I always think, I MUST get off and go inside.  And I tell you what, I’m going to.

So Titanic in 3D was amazing but RIP HMS Titanic and all the souls lost upon it, you are all in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

