The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

So on Sunday evening I was dragged to see The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel with my Mum and Grandma.  Okay, not dragged.  But it got to 5pm and to tell you the truth I really couldn’t be bothered to get myself out of my PJs and head to Woking town centre to the cinema.  But I’m so glad I did.

This is IMBD’s synopsis of the movie:

‘British retirees travel to India to take up residence in what they believe is a newly restored hotel. Less luxurious than its advertisements, the Marigold Hotel nevertheless slowly begins to charm in unexpected ways.’

Sounds boring?  It really wasn’t.  Cue gold actors and actresses Bill Nighy, Judi Dench, Maggie Smith, Celia Imrie and Penelope Wilton along with Skins and Slumdog Millionaire’s Dev Patel frolicking around India.  For quintessentially an old persons movie, it was very bold to have homosexual and racist story lines within it.

What I found most interest was the similarity of my Mother and Grandmother to two of the characters.  My Mother to Judi Dench, a cultural adviser in an Indian telecommunications office, which my Mum is, and my grandmother to Maggie Smith, an elderly lady with a hip replacement.  Maybe that’s why I found it so endearing, but it was absolutely hilarious too with cracking one liners and sex scenes.

It also portrayed a story line that is close to me.  It breaks my heart to see members of my family and family friends in unhappy relationships and marriages, thinking that they are too old to break away and start afresh or to have a life change.  The film involved one couple, mid to late 50s I would say divorcing after 30 odd years of marriage to start again and be happy in new lives which I thought was beautiful.  I’m sure everybody can think of at least one couple that could do with seeing this movie.

So basically, it was wonderful.  Funny, charming, endearing, saucy and fiesty would be some words to describe it.  And 7.5 stars from IMDB … not bad.

Leave a Reply

