Dam Madness

So last week I casually went to Amsterdam.  Yeah, no biggie.  Ya know, just thought ‘d fly over for a few days, test the water.  AND IT WAS INSANE!  It was actually for a University Geography Field Trip so we did lots of work, but fun work.  No standing in rivers measuring flow or anything juvenile like that (I take it back, river flow is VERY important …), total human geography madness, interviews, observations, the works.  Pretty awesome.  So whilst we worked all day, we partied all night.  The evenings were our own and by jove did we make the most of them.  Here’s some snaps and stories:

Ah Amsterdam, the Venice of the North.  Except the boyfriend didn’t even know it had canals!  We were lucky enough that the weather was beautiful while we there (yes, weather, it WAS a geography trip guys) which I feel made it SO much better.  Oh and on the right, standard Netherlands.  You know, I think I might try make clogs cool.

Right, so despite what I’ve given up for Lent (Oh my goodness, it’s SHOPPING.  But I’ve just realised you probably don’t know that, stay tuned for a blog), I felt that being international (i.e. not in England), it was alright to purchase a couple of small things.  Tiny.  Absolutely miniscule (not like three maxi dresses, a crop top and four necklaces … NOTHING like that).  So I rallied the troups and we headed to a gorgeous flea market down by one of the canals.  It was amazing.  Antiques, trinkets, vintage galore.  Stunning.  Oh, and the middle picture is just a really cute Dutch house.

Naw, thought I’d put at least one cute couply picture in there.  Yes, Andrew came too!  Being a fellow geographer and all that.  It was really weird actually, being on holiday with him but not being with him if you see what I mean.  We had 68 other geographers, 3 lecturers and 3 postgrads to keep us company.  It didn’t work out too bad though.  He was in my working group meaning I actually spent all day with him and we hung out in the evenings together in a big group.  So yeah, it worked well.  Oop, middle picture is my stunning new swatch watch.  BUT, I purchased it Duty Free so it doesn’t even count.  The picture on the left is my absolutely revolutionised idea of hot chocolate!  Warm milk, and actual chocolate.  Why did I not think of this before?!  Dutch, you are dreamboats.

Yes, we went to the sex museum.  Picture on the left is be sitting on a giant willy, standard.  (For anyone that cares I’m wearing blouse and denim jacket, both Dorothy Perkins, scarf from Zara, Urban Outfitters jeans and Converse.  I was a TOURIST, okay?!)  The middle picture is Josh, Bec, myself and Andrew on a night out.  But Amsterdam nights out are very different to Southampton nights out.  Coffee Shops.  That’s all I’m going to say on the matter.  And the left was just a cool sign.

Picture on the left is my STUNNING working group.  I’d never met the two girls Emma and Louise before, but we got on SO well!  There’s something about working together and being together for long periods of time in a new environment that just makes everybody bond.  I can’t wait to catch up with them both over some vino after Easter.  Yes, I went to McDonalds in Amsterdam, sue me.  But they officially did the best burger I have ever tasted.  A McKroket.  Exclusive to the Netherlands.  Which is short, is a cheese croquette in a burger.  It was so amazing that on the last night I had three at once.  And on the right, shows one of the most famous coffee shops in Amsterdam, right in the middle of the Red Light District (which we did visit, but I didn’t manage to get any pictures of for fear of being shot).  It’s called Bulldog and it was incredible, inside it’s got heaps of pictures and autographs of all the famous people that have been there.  I’m talking Rihanna, Eminem, Shaggy, Andre 3000, The Black Eyed Peas … and Atomic Kitten!  I squealed a little bit when I saw their picture.

So that was Amsterdam.  The final picture shows my fab working group on the new I AMsterdam sign, and we cleverly just went in the DAM bit, I know right.  So smart.  So I had a great time.  Friends, fun and frolics.  All I could ask for.  When can I go again?!

One thought on “Dam Madness

  1. Pingback: What Happened In March « Bella's Bits

Leave a Reply

