Love and Longevity

Hey guys, thought I’d share my recent entry into Clothes Show Live’s Young Journalist of the Year competition.  I’d be a fool and unambitious to say I don’t expect anything, I worked hard on this and I really enjoyed writing it so I hope you guys enjoy it :)

Love and Longevity

What fashion item(s) would I buy with £500?  Geez, put a girl on the spot much?!  My mind is instantly swarmed with a kaleidoscope of ASOS knitwear, Office’s new boot collection and Mulberry handbags.  But what would I actually buy?!

My Mother has long drummed into me the importance of longevity in fashion, spending perhaps £100 on a good quality classic that will last for 100 years, maybe an item for each season?  Winter, it would have to be a luxury cashmere scarf.  Cuddled up inside with a cup of tea or strolling around London town in skinnys, Doc Martins and a duffle coat; a classic scarf in camel or grey would go with anything and last for years.  It would suit me at 19 or 79.

Spring, I would love to invest in a multitude of vintage tea dresses.  Comfortable, classic and classy, tea dresses can be worn with pumps, heels, boots; one of the most versatile of fashion items. I’d purchase patterns of prints, floral and colour pop to create virtually every fashion trend from the last 5 years in one item.  A cheeky rummage in my Grandma’s jewellery drawer and I can mix and match to create hundreds of outfits.  Voila!

Summer, undoubtedly my favourite fashion season.  The legs come out, or do they…?  For me, maxi skirts are my best friend when I can’t be bothered to shave my legs or compete with size 8 hotties.  I’d like a pleated chiffon maxi skirt, similar to the ones popping up at Urban Outfitters and Reiss.  Worn with crop tops, bikini tops or tasselled tops, a chic alternative to baring all.

And Autumn, the beautiful season as I write.  It’s definitely getting chillier on my walks home and I am finding myself in desperate need of a fluffy trilby, once with a bit of a stretch to it to yank down over my ears.  Perhaps in a deep turquoise colour, to go with denim or a giant cardie, to be worn with messy pig tails, a side pony, or hey, just hair plain loose.

My final stop would be the beautiful charity shops of Chelsea.  Yes, a bit controversial I know.  I’d scour back streets high and low, handing over £10 to £50 for vintage Chanel blazers and leather satchels for nights out.  So now I don’t feel so guilty, but why should I?  We’re women; we earn the right to treat ourselves every single day!

So £500, a lot of money for a mere student such as myself.  I could treat myself with a standard Topshop splurge of heels and waistcoats, tops and jeans that would last me … all of a year of two.  But then I’ll start work and step into the realms of the ‘twenties’, where I actually have to start dressing for my age.  I want to invest, invest in quality items that will last me for years and years, that I can show off and hand down to my children, become family emblems of love and hope, and be the best fashion education I can possibly give them, just like I had.

By Annabel McKnespiey

So maybe it’s not top class writing, punchy and witty or overflowing with humor, but it’s me.  I read some other entries and they were incredible, I could have competed, but in order to do that I would have had to change my style of writing, which I really didn’t want to do.  So here’s me, here’s the truth … and here’s hoping I win!

Leave a Reply

