Freedom

Wow, just wow.  Massive apologies for not blogging in a while, stuff has been pretty hectic.  Nevertheless, as the title suggests I am now free, absolutely free.

My last exam went well before rushing to the pub ordering Champagne and Camembert.  Standard.  I felt delightfully tipsy as I packed my case for New York.  I remember feeling nothing, it was bizarre.  The day before, after my Chemistry exam I had sobbed the whole journey home.  Nothing to do with the exam, that was fine, I just wept.  I still don’t really know why, maybe I was just being a girl, but A Level hell was nearly over.  The next day I felt nothing.  I sat in my car, just waiting for the explosion of emotion that I expected to hit me like a ton of bricks, and none came.  It still hasn’t.  The closest was a few goose bumpy tears on the plane, coinciding with the ‘StreetDance’ movie finale (Beautiful film if you ever get the chance to watch it).  Maybe it’s natural.  My friends thought so when I asked them about it, no tears, no relief, no fear, just nothing.  Hmm, I’ll update you if anything changes.

The whole freedom thing is a bit strange though.  For almost 2 years I’ve had my strict college routine and even stricter these past few months with revision.  Now I have nothing.  I bounded out of bed this morning with my head buzzing with study cards and highlighters, to be greeted with a day of nothing.  Lovely, but odd.  The freedom from technology for a week was definitely welcome.  I couldn’t be doing with my phone in the States and I only checked the Internet a couple of times, I just didn’t feel the need.  Before New York, I maybe updated Twitter and checked Facebook three, perhaps four times a day.  Now, I’m more than content with just once.

So I’m free.  Free from exams, from college, free from my life as I’ve known it these past two years.  Summer has officially arrived with a stunning trip to New York, stay tuned for that one.  I’ve fallen blissfully in love with life all over again.

One thought on “Freedom

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Freedom « AnnabelCharMcK's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

