Pizza and Parliament

I’m loving this.  Yesterday was one of the best I’ve had in a long time.  Waking up bright and early, poll card at the ready before flouncing off to cast my vote.  ‘Is this your first time voting dear?’ an old lady said to me as I hopped from foot to foot and in doing so dropping my polling card, holding up the 10 people long queue.  I nodded and smiled like a 5 year old.  Good grief, who knew crossing a box with a pencil in a cardboard booth could be so exciting!

I had a lovely day, all election talk, election prayers; election fever!  Some guy even piggy backed me and tried to commandeer me to vote for him in the college Mock Election.  My usual tune blasting drive home was replaced by intelligent political conversation on the Radio then on arriving home,  BBC News was the only thing allowed on.

Next came a Student Night out trip to Woking town itself.  Oh yes.  My first legal and official night out in my home town since turning 18, it was hilarious.  The first half was excruciating.  One trip to the toilet resulted in seeing about 15 people from my past life, my secondary school, my primary school, hell, even my nursery!  Ridiculous.  I attempted to smile and say ‘Hi’ to most people but it was madness.  Made me realise how much I cannot wait to leave.  To go out on the town without an entourage of ‘This Is Your Life’.

The second half was incredible though I have to admit.  Arm in arm with my beautiful friend Maddie, we drunk and danced the night away.  Despite seeing everyone I knew from everywhere I managed to smile and hold decent conversations, shouting over the bass this is.  We even started a bar fight.  Some lovely squiff of a guy decided to buy us drinks, in doing so barging through a mosh of drunkards nearly getting himself attacked.  I had to intervene, most exciting!  A hilarious accumulation of events ended in myself having the giggles for a good hour, being bought more drinks and being walked home by a British Airways pilot.  Beautiful.

This morning I woke early, cuddling pepperoni pizza and lemonade, wrapped in my duvet with BBC News.   As I type, 38 seats are yet to come in.  Who knows what will have happened next time I blog politics and pizza?!

3 thoughts on “Pizza and Parliament

Leave a Reply

