Writing a Book

I must have started about 6 or 7 books, as in, long haul novels in my time.  And finished how many?  Zero.  I love to write, I carry my notebook with me everywhere, jotting down ideas for characters, settings, narration.  Loser?  Perhaps, perhaps not.  I’ve written about promiscious doctors, lonely terrorists, Christian football players, murders … and not one of these stories has been completed.

I think I got the furthest with my promisicious doctor story.  Classic holiday chic-lit, which I completed about 30,000 words of.  I would rush home every day after school and sit with my laptop and my notepad, and refuse to stop until I’d written another chapter.  Next came the terrorist story, thinking my It Girl London doctor was a bit too shallow, that I needed some depth to my writing – cue middle east desert, a topic which I have no understanding or experience of.  I found I was beginning and stopping stories all the time, never finding myself, finding my true writing style in any of them.

So what next?  I am still determined to complete a book one day.  But perhaps I just have to accept and embrace the fact my writing style may not be suited to any one character for 300 pages.  Maybe I’m better with the fast paced, live, up to date articles I one day hope to publish.  This Summer I’m going to give it a go.  Three months of doing nothing but travelling, and discovering myself.  I have New York, epic amounts of camping and road trips planned plus plenty of ‘finding myself’.  I’m sure I’ll be able to whack out a novel along the way.  At least I’m sure as hell going to try!

4 thoughts on “Writing a Book

  1. Maybe write from your experiences – great authors write about things they either know or have heavily researched…e.g. Lewis, Tolkein, Rowling & Higgins.

    You can always finish & self-publish – check out:

    http://www.lulu.com/uk/publish/books/?cid=gb_home_nav_bk
    http://issuu.com/

    I’ve been writing loads recently (handwritten!) about the wedding prep fun, writing as if to future-children or to look back on in years to come. It’s very theraputic and written about something on my mind a lot and important to me…be inspired!

  2. Absolutely yeah – and cheers for the site. Oh that’s such a cool idea about getting your children to look back on! I have a Journal like that for my daughter, a mass of scriptures, sermons, letters – my Christ book, very girly and pretty – hence the daughter!

    Be inspired … love it, I’ll be inspired all the way to a Bestseller. Wise words as always Si!

  3. Dear Annabel,

    I was directed to your blog by Alex Peppitt (Pepcougarblogspot), another aspirational writer who has moved from the UK to Richmond Canada. My time is all my own and I spend a large proportion of it editing novelists, poets and other writers. I’m currently finishing the final edit of a young American woman, Rajam Roose, who hitchhiked all over the US, Mexico, Bahamas & Venezuela and has written a memoir of her wild and dangerous adventures. The advice to ‘write what you know’ is excellent in its own way, but it can also be dispiriting to young writers and excludes the idea of writing fantasy, which has been a great starting point for many. One writer I edit, Gareth Thompson, also started many novels before we met and then went on to complete The Great Harlequin Grim, and his next 2 novels Sunshine to the Sunless & Anarchists Angel (all still in print: see Amazon). Not finishing several novels is usually a sign of one of 3 things: a personal psychological barrier, not thinking thoroughly enough through the plot line to find an ending, or lack of having the right person to bounce it off: ie an editor. Having friends & family members read your work is not the same thing. 30 years ago new technology made typographers redundant. Streamlined editing software programmes and making commercial considerations paramount have both allowed publishers to dump editors & now they are the hardest thing for new writers to find. A good editor reads your work as a reader would, notices where it makes them stop reading and why, then asks questions of the writer which hopefully leads them to finding solutions. In the event you would like to try this method I would be happy to look at what you consider your best attempt & assist you to its conclusion. This service is entirely free to those who can’t afford it. I’m sure Alex Peppitt, Rajam Roose & Gareth Thompson would be all be willing to offer a reference for my work.
    In the meantime I would like to add one small piece of advice: keep everything you write! Inside each is the kernel of an idea, which, when returned to later, will be seen differently and can develop into something else.
    Very much enjoying your blog
    daveward

  4. Thank you very much Dave!
    This blogging is still quite new to me, it’s astounding how it can open up new opportunities such as your kind offer. I’m very much focusing on my studies at the moment, and gathering as much life experience as I possibly can along the way! I will be sure to get in touch should my writing progress in the future. Many thanks for taking the time to read my blog – I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

