Oxford: Before

Oxford University

This Tuesday and Wednesday I head to Oxford University for a grand all expenses paid Politics Conference, designed to ‘catalyse the minds of leaders of the future’.  Yikes.  I fully expect to use my God given gift of the gab far too much and end up in a discussion where I act too posh for my own good, and be wrong.  Cue boys from Eton, an unwritten rule of how to speak, what to do and what to say.  But more importantly, what to wear.

This afternoon gave way to a Fashion Show, myself parading up and down, up and down in at least 20 different outfits for both the day time and the Tuesday evening ‘Dinner Dance’.  I promised myself I wouldn’t conform.  I’ve been to Oxford once before but all I know about the Uni itself is from ‘Morse’ and ‘Lewis’, sterotypical much?! 

I really do not know what to expect.  I guess all I can do is be who I am, dress how I dress and speak how I speak.  And if I offend anyone in the meantime?  Tough love baby.

3 thoughts on “Oxford: Before

  1. Funny stuff – Oxford is a beutiful place & you’ll love it! Remember Oxford University one university, sub-divided down into over 50 separate colleges & don’t worry about Eton kids or others – you can’t take them too seriously at all. Have fun & enjoy the experience kiddo

  2. Hi,
    I just found your blog and I really love it! I am also going to the Dicey conference in in March and after reading your post I am really excited about it. However the information I have been given about the dinner is very vague and the dress code is, ‘smart shirt and tie for men and the equivalent for girls’ -helpful. I was just wondering if you could tell me the types outfits people wore at your conference because I am completely stuck with what to wear!
    Thanks,
    Amber

    • Hi Amber!

      Thank you :) Ah, you’ll have a great time! Have you read my post about ‘After’? https://bellasbits.wordpress.com/2010/03/19/oxford-after/

      In regards to what girls wore for dinner, its the kind of thing you’d wear to a fancy meal to meet your boyfriends parents. I.e. not too low cut, and down to the knee! There were people that dressed a bit more provocatively, but it didn’t seem that appropriate considering where we were and who we were with. I would mostly recommend something that you’re comfortable in and that doesn’t show too much skin, if you’re comfortable in heels, they’re a must!

      Hope I’ve helped, have a lovely time!

      Bella

Leave a Reply

