Why I Don’t Wear Make-Up

Make-Up

On a day to day basis, I do not wear make-up, not even powder, not even mascara – nothing.  Of course when the situation arises, for a party, or the pub or a special occasion I do … but I hate it.  While some women (and men, we live in modern times here) have make-up as fashion, to complete their outfit, or even as an accessory, I do not.  Why?

1)  The Ingredients – I can’t imagine that falling into a rubbish bin would be that fun.  Make-up is essentially rubbish, all over your face.  Have you ever taken the time to look at the ingredients in your foundation?  Tridecyl Neopentanoate, Octyl Methoxycinnamate and Pyroglutamic acid to name but a few.  I study chemistry, I know that it cannot be good for you to have acid washed all over you.  I’m not saying that it will corrode your face but I certainly don’t think it’s very healthy.

2)  Suffocation – Make-up is pretty heavy stuff (in mass), it always has been.  Remember learning about old school powder in Primary School?  Queen

Orange

Victoria I think it was flipping caked in the stuff?!  Your skin can’t breathe, I find that I can’t breathe.  I feel heavy, weighed down, I don’t feel like myself, I feel suffocated.

3)  Guys Don’t Like It – By all means speak up if you object but from what I’ve learnt, guys aren’t too fussed.  I just love the Facebook group: ‘Oi Slag!  The Oompa-Loompa’s called and asked if they can have their face paint back!’ or words to that effect.  Have you ever seen the orange line some girls parade on their jawline?  Not the best of looks.  As I’ve grown up I’ve realised that the bad guys care about bum and boobs, the good guys actually care about who you are, not what your face looks like.

4) It lies – ‘Wrinkle reduction’, ‘Makes you look younger’, ‘Smooths your skin’ = Yeah whatever.  Unless there’s a new make-up range including Botox ingredients that seeps through your pores, the rest is trash.  More often that not, make-up fails to fulfil its purpose and just leaves you orange, streaky and with spots.

5) It’s not me – I don’t need chemicals smeared on my face to define myself, to define my personality, to define who I am.  It may have taken a few years, lots of tears and tantrums, but I know who I am, make-up doesn’t fit into that.  No woman (or man) should feel objectified and as if they have to fit into everyday life and society by wearing make-up.  It’s so sad that people die every day, people have no homes and no food and all the social order thinks of is appearance.

This is just my view.  Apologies if this insults you or doesn’t agree with your view, but this is my view.  And that’s what a blog is about, right?!

3 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Wear Make-Up

  1. Pingback: Bella’s Bits – 100 posts in the making! « Bella's Bits

  2. Pingback: April Verbs | Bella's Bits

Leave a Reply

