Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!  Forget the flipping Valentines Day lark, today is all about celebrating the Chinese New Year, the Year of the Tiger, for me anyway.  It’s not cause I’m single and bitter, nothing of the sort.  I am perfectly happy within my relationship status of single, I know who I am and I don’t need another person to bring me that feeling of identity.

No, today is about culture.  Yes, that topic again I’m afraid but it’s so important to every day life.  My Year of Culture, I honestly don’t know why I haven’t done it before.  I feel wiser, more educated and have so much more to bring to conversations now, about current affairs and politics, not what I’m doing this weekend or how much I drank last night.

So as China, and indeed the rest of the world enter the New Year today, I believe it is vital to remember the cultural heritage which makes our world so incredible.  Yes, get slushy and romantic if you feel like it, but a New Year, a New Start to one of the most influential, historical and populated countries on the planet has got to be more exciting than a bunch of roses and some chocolates right?!

One thought on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

